提升煤电灵活性,优化可再生能源并网 |

提升煤电灵活性,优化可再生能源并网

中德煤电灵活性研讨会顺利举办

随着越来越多的波动性可再生能源电力馈入电网,提升煤电机组灵活性是保障高比例可再生能源消纳及电力系统安全运行的关键措施。©shutterstock/J.M. Image Factory

随着波动性可再生能源上网比例越来越高,提升电力系统灵活性成为保障电力供应安全和可再生能源发展与消纳的重要措施。在中国碳达峰、碳中和大背景下,煤电在长远的未来何去何从?在德国退煤政策倒逼下,煤电企业如何决策?如何在现阶段利用既有煤电的灵活电力,助力可再生能源发展保障能源安全?中德专家展开交流与讨论。

4月22日,由德国国际合作机构(GIZ)主办的中德煤电灵活性在线研讨会顺利召开。研讨会吸引了来自中德两国政府机构、研究机构和工业界的60多名与会者参加。会议旨在中德两国煤电灵活性现状、挑战和解决方案提供信息与交流平台,在中德政府、企业等利益相关方间建立联系,加强煤电灵活性领域的交流合作。此次活动得到了中国电力规划设计总院的支持。

会议要点回顾  – 煤电灵活性工具箱发布

会上,由德国VGB Powertech公司开发、德国国际合作机构GIZ翻译引进的煤电灵活性工具箱官方中文版正式发布。燃煤电厂的灵活运行离不开合适的技术、熟练的运行及富有远见的管理和领导。煤电灵活性工具箱为提升燃煤电厂的灵活性提供了大量成熟的技术措施清单、实用技巧、培训建议以及管理层面的参考信息。发电厂的灵活运行通常包括三个方面:较低最小稳定出力,较高爬坡速率以及快速而高效的启动和关停。通过灵活性提升措施,较为先进的硬煤发电厂已经能够将其最小稳定出力降低到10%,将其爬坡速率提高到9%,并将其热启动时间缩短到1小时。该煤电灵活性工具箱报告分为四个部分,即发电厂提高灵活性的改造措施、运营和维护、培训以及管理。其中,灵活性提升改造措施部分涵盖了燃烧、水蒸汽循环、轮汽机、仪表与控制系统和辅助系统优化等领域的措施。

点击此处,下载煤电灵活性工具箱官方中文版。

与会的中德专家和相关企业分享了最新研究成果或实践经验,并围绕煤电灵活性和电力行业脱碳,展开深入探讨,为提升煤电灵活性带来以下观点和思考:

在正确的激励措施和市场机制下,煤电灵活性措施可以为电厂创造额外收益。作为国家首批火电灵活性改造试点单位之一,华能丹东电厂分享的例子显示,通过包括热电解耦在内电厂的灵活性改造措施为其带来了试点辅助服务市场的额外收益。然而,随着市场参与者的逐年增多,最初的高收益已经有所下降。这一方面体现为试点煤电厂参与辅助服务市场逐渐饱和,另一方面,电厂参与深度调峰的价格机制尚未完全打通,专家讨论也显示,建立煤电灵活性改造的激励机制、完善从发电侧承担到发电与用户侧共担的价格机制对于煤电灵活性提升与电力系统可持续转型至关重要。

煤电灵活性提升没有通用的解决方案。德国和其他国家煤电厂的例子表明,每个电厂都是独一无二的,这就要求有针对性地定制措施建议。通常情况下,电厂自身很难看到其灵活性提升潜力,但微小的改变措施和谨慎的试验均将使灵活性提升成为可能。例如,改进磨煤机的自动处理可以解决在最小稳定出力状态下火焰闪烁的问题。德国莱茵集团(RWE)国际技术公司、西门子能源和ProCom公司在会上分享了他们的煤电灵活性经验及解决方案。

煤电灵活性改造是现阶段提高中国电力部门灵活性最经济有效的方法。中国拥有非常先进的现代化煤电厂,尽管大部分仍按照基荷运行设计,在建立以新能源为主体、安全高效的电力系统的要求下,仍有巨大的灵活性改造与优化潜力,随着更多的可再生能源并网消纳、电力现货市场/辅助服务市场加速推进,火电灵活性也有望提上议事日程并得到进一步提升。


本次会议在“中德能源转型研究项目“和”中德工业节能示范项目"框架下,由德国国际合作机构(GIZ)主办。两个中德合作项目均由德国联邦经济能源部(BMWi)委托,分别在国家能源局(NEA)和国家发改委(NDRC)的指导下开展工作。

未来项目将继续与中国的利益相关者密切合作,为政府、企事业单位,尤其是燃煤电厂、电力公司等公用事业单位以及研究机构在探索煤电灵活性解决方案领域提供交流与合作平台,推动两国能源领域的转型。

中德能源转型研究项目,致力于在中国推广低碳能源政策,结合德国的能源转型优秀实践经验,为中国能源领域的政治决策者和能源政策研究相关的智库提供政策建议和参考。”中德工业节能示范项目"在项目一期对六个重点用能单位节能诊断基础上,关注其所在示范行业能效措施的推广传播和能力建设,旨在促进中国工业领域能效提升、减少碳排放,同时加强能效领域企业间合作。

EN

Improve Coal Power Flexibility for Better RE Integration |

Improving Coal Power Flexibility for Better Grid Integration of Renewables

Sino-German Online Conference on Coal Power Flexibility
As more and more variable re-newable electricity feeds into the grid, flexible conventional electric-ity generation plays an important role for ensuring adequate system stability. ©shutterstock/J.M. Image Factory

On 22 April, GIZ hosted the Sino-German Online Conference on Coal Power Flexibility. As more and more variable renewable electricity feeds into the grid, flexibilization of existing conventional power plants plays an important role for ensuring adequate system stability in the short to medium term. The event attracted over 60 attendees from both countries’ government institutions, research and industry. The conference provided an information platform for exchanging on the status quo, challenges and solutions for the flexibilization of coal power in Germany and China and connecting German and Chinese decision makers from politics and industry alike. The event was supported by China Electric Power Planning and Engineering Institute (EPPEI).

One of the event’s highlights was the launch of the Chinese language version of VGB Powertech’s toolbox on coal power flexibilization. The flexible operation of coal-fired power plants requires suitable technologies, skilled staff and leadership with foresight. The Flexibility Toolbox provides a collection of numerous proven technical measures for the flexibilization of coal-fired power plants, practical tips and recommendations for training as well as references for management issues. Minimum load, ramp rates and start-up and shutdown time are typically used to describe power plant flexibility. By applying flexibilization measures, very advanced hard coal power plants have been able to reduce their minimum load to 10%, increase their ramp rate to 9% and shorten their hot start-up time to one hour. The report is divided into four sections – Retrofit, Operation & Maintenance, Training, and Management, and covers measures in the areas of combustion, water-steam cycle, turbine, I&C system and auxiliary systems optimization.

Click here to download the Chinese version of toolbox on coal power flexibilization.

Further notable findings from the conference include, amongst others:

With the right incentives and market mechanisms in place, coal flexibilization generates additional revenue. In an example shared by Huaneng Dandong Power Plant, one of the first batch of the country’s national flexibilization pilots, data showed that plant flexibilization, including the decoupling of heat and power generation, resulted in additional revenue from the pilot ancillary services market. However, initial revenues have since fallen as more companies entered the market. The discussions showed that the introduction of incentives and market mechanisms is crucial for introducing power sector and coal plant flexibility.

No universal solution for coal power plants. The examples of German and international power plants revealed that each power plant is unique and requires specific recommendations. Often, plant owners believe that their plant cannot be made more flexible, but small changes and careful experimentation make further flexibilization possible. E.g., improving automatic coal mill handling can address the problem of flickering flames at low minimum load. Several specific measures and experiences were shared by German companies RWE Technology International, Siemens Energy, and ProCom.

Coal power flexibilization is the most cost-effective method for improving power sector flexibility in China. Though China has very modern coal power plants, more can be done to improve flexibility, which will likely accelerate as more renewables enter the market and spot market/ancillary services markets accelerate.


The “Sino-German Online Conference on Coal Power Flexibility” was hosted by Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH in the framework of the Sino-German Energy Transition Project and the Sino-German Demonstration Project on Energy Efficiency in Industry between the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi), the National Energy Administration and the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC), respectively. The event was supported by China Electric Power Planning and Engineering Institute (EPPEI).

Both projects will continue to work closely with Chinese stakeholders to further facilitate technical exchanges on coal power and power sector flexibilization, build connections between businesses in both countries, and accelerate the energy transitions in China and Germany.